No customization options are available.

RS/ S1000R head scratching

Discussion in 'R1200RS Versus The Competition' started by Ollybolly, May 2, 2016.

1. Ollybolly

Ollybolly New Member

Hi,

Wonder if you could help me with a quandary I have on choosing a new bike. This could be a long post, so please bear with me.

Here's the situation. I commute from outside London into the city almost every week day, all year round. This is a 40 mile trip each way: about 30 minutes on the motorway and then around 40 minutes city riding. I've been doing it for 18 months on a Triumph street triple. I chose it for this because I read it's a great bike: well built, great handling, light and nimble, good brakes. The triple engine- for its size- is ace too. I can only afford and have space for one bike, so it has to be capable of the bread and butter commute, as well as the occasional longer adventure/ twisty scratching I always aspire to doing more of.

So, together we've braved the M25 and clogged up road arteries of inner and suburban London. I suppose we could carry on, but the arrangement's by no means perfect, and I'm lusting after an alternative bike.

The reasons are, in approximate order of concern:

- Wind/weather protection. Stupid of me to pick a naked bike to do such a long commute, right? My logic was that having such a great bike would make up for the discomfort. I'm young(ish) at 38, so I can deal with a bit of that at my age. Also, if simple logic dictated what bike to choose, we'd all be riding NC 700s, surely? But having just come out of my second winter, complete with inevitable English wind, rain and spray thrown at me through the cold, I'm hardly looking forward to the next one. Wouldn't a screen, a bit of fairing and heated grips be great?