No customization options are available.

Long term ownership? Should I trade in at 36Kmiles or keep to 100k+?

Discussion in 'General R1200RS Discussions' started by Dejocko, Mar 2, 2018.

1. Dejocko

Dejocko Member

Let me start out by saying a few things.

***Warning long read but I'm relatively young and never had any role models when it comes to making good financial decisions or motorcycle ownership. I need your help****

1. I am by no means rich but I can afford responsible motorcycle ownership but I'm not experienced and I want to make the best financial and the best decision that protects my physical safety.

2. I am not capable of working on my own motorcycles

3. I love the RS, it's literally the perfect single motorcycle to do it all (on pavement) solution that checks all the boxes for me with the exception of some leg room issues (being 6'5" with a 36" inseam)

4. I can't help but want more power.

5. I can't help but want more leg room.

I dont believe those two things are available together except on the XR or Multistrada (or maybe the new Tiger 1200) but I really really don't want to deal with chain drive again as the motorcycle is my only vehicle. The combination of my lack of understanding of how to adjust and the tediousness (OCD) of constantly cleaning a chain drive, makes me a bad chain driven motorcycle owner.....but I really really love the XR and Multistrada.

All that being said....

This is my first motorcycle where I am tasked with the financial decision of keeping it long term and I have absolutely no clue what to expect after the warranty runs out.

Let's ignore the fact that my legs day dream constantly of owning a XR, Pikes Peak Multistrada, or GSA... and my genitals yearn for the KTM Super Duke R...

What should I expect if I choose to keep the RS (or any motorcycle) past manufacturers warranty period?